A few steps more !

Ohh! if I could walk a few steps more,

but my feet are turning sore..

In a far off distant land you reside

With unknown people by your side

Stretching my hand to reach you in vain

My Strength is weakening,I know not how to soothe this pain.

To catch a glimpse of you I travelled high and low

Dipping my feet now in the cold current of the river flow

Crossed the big hills and little puddles through

Stuck in the swamp till came by weary travellers two

 

Passed the lush green fields of paddy and rice

Those simple farmers are free of all vice

 

The sheep are bleating the song of innocence

Flocked together by the shepherd dog of Florence
Ohh if I could walk a few steps more,

but my feet are turning sore..

In a distance I could see a fleet of boats each of which had two big ores

All seemed eager to lift weary people and drop them at different shores

But my journey would end if I found you in another mountain high

You are up there ,to where my tired feet would have to ply …

 

Leave a Reply

